Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Use Modify|Merge to merge changes from another source branch to the selected file/directory.

Select Trunk to merge from the main trunk. Select Branch or Tag and enter the branch or tag name to merge changes from a branch or tag. Select Other Location to merge from an arbitrary location, specifying the corresponding repository and path.

Alternatively, you may select a merge source from the History button. It shows a list of previous merge sources you have used, as well as merge sources extracted from the svn:mergeinfo property of your merge target.

Use All Revisions to merge all the revisions which have not yet been merged from the selected location. SmartSVN will detect them based on the present merge tracking information.

Warning

All Revisions does not work with pre-1.5 servers (e.g. 1.4 servers).

Use Revision Range to manually specify multiple (ranges of) revisions to be merged from the selected location. SmartSVN will detect whether certain revisions of the specified ranges have already been merged and avoid to repeatedly merge them. Single revisions are just specified by their revision number while ranges starting at start (inclusive) and ending at end (inclusive) are specified by start-end. Multiple revisions (ranges) can be specified with a separating colon (,). Certain revisions may be excluded by prefixing them with an exclamation mark (!).

Instead of entering the revisions manually, you can choose them from the revision browser . The revision browser will indicate with a green arrow ('merge candidates') which revisions have not been merged. From the Options-button you can select Show only mergable revision to restrict the revision list to those merge candidates. By default, Show all revisions will include also revisions which have already been merged.

Select Reverse merge to reverse the changes between the selected revisions. Internally, this is achieved by swapping the start and end revisions.

Advanced options

By default, merging takes the ancestry into account, meaning that merging does not simply calculate (and merge) the difference between two files which have the same path, but also checks if both files are actually related. For the typical merging use cases, this behavior leads to the expected results and it is also required for the merge tracking to work. You can switch this behavior off by selecting Ignore ancestry, however this option is not recommended unless you have a good reason to use it.

Regarding Ignore changes in EOL-style and For Whitespaces handling, refer to Create Patch (Queries).

Deselect Recurse into subdirectories to merge only changes to the selected directory/file itself but not it's contained files, etc. In general it's recommended to keep Recurse into subdirectories selected.

With Record only no files will be touched during the merge, and only the Mergeinfo, will be adjusted accordingly, so that the core merge tracking mechanisms consider the revisions as merged. This option can be useful to 'block' certain revisions from being actually merged.

By default merging will stop when it's required to delete locally modified files, because they have been removed in the merge source. You can switch off this safety check by selecting Force deletion of locally modified files, if necessary.

Select Allow operation on mixed-revision working copy to disable SmartSVN's check for mixed-revision. This option is not recommended because it will usually result in more complex svn:mergeinfo.

Close the dialog with Merge to immediately perform the merge to the selected directory/file of the current working copy. Alternatively you may choose to Preview the changes that would result from the merge. Refer to the Merge Preview for details.

  • No labels